Park District Board and Meetings

The Belvidere Park District is a separate governing unit which levies its own tax to provide park facilities and recreation for the residents of the district. Innovative leadership starts with our community-elected, five member Board of Commissioners. Members of the Board of Commissioners are elected to four year terms and serve without compensation.

Daniel Noble

Commissioner / President

Amy Nord

Commissioner / Vice-President

Amy has been involved with the Belvidere Township Park District in several different roles over the years. She began as a camp counselor in 1994. Other positions worked include 3rd base coordinator, preschool teacher, and Rivers Edge office manager. Amy has been an elected commissioner since 2021. As a runner, she has a passion for the outdoors and loves the miles of great paths in the parks. Amy is the Executive Director of the Belvidere Area Chamber of Commerce and is involved with several boards and organizations including The Workforce Connection board, OSF Community Advisory board, Growth Dimensions board, Cosmopolitan Club of Belvidere, Zonta Club, and Crime Stoppers. Amy is a lifelong resident of Belvidere and has two daughters that grew up participating in as many park district programs as possible. She would like to see those programs continue to grow and be successful in our community. Amy believes our parks and programming are a huge asset to the community and enhance the quality of life in Boone County.

Mary Marquardt

Commissioner / Secretary

Mary has been a pillar of the board since 1987 and continues to lead the district into the future. She has been in the community of Belvidere for over 40 years.  She is a lifetime member of the Boone County Historical Society and is an active member of The Parks and Conservation Foundation. In her free time, she enjoys spending time with her four grandchildren, enjoying the arts, and time spent gardening.

Jean Twyning

Commissioner / Treasurer

Jean began her association with BPD as a six-year-old pool patron and later became a swim instructor and lifeguard (11 yrs.).  Now a retired District 100 biology teacher, she stays active in several organizations including Boone County Arts Council, Foundation for Excellence in Education, Boone County Community Foundation, Panhellenic Society, and Zion Lutheran Church.  Jean actively promotes public recreation as a community asset.  For 19 years she organized the KishWalk encouraging elementary children to raise funds for the Riverfront path system while exercising at school.  Jean was awarded the 2006 “Doctor of Civic Betterment” title by the Belvidere Chamber of Commerce.

Gary Thacker


Gary is a retired teacher, he taught health and physical education for 33 years at BHS and BNHS. Gary has Bachelor of Science in Physical Education from Eastern Illinois University and Masters in Education from Northern Illinois University. He spent many years coaching football, wrestling and tennis.  Gary is a member of the Boone County Arts Council Board. Gary aslo volunteers at the Boone County Museum of History. Gary is married to his wife Heidi and has two daughters Kelsey (Nick) in Barrington and Kendall (Jason) in Seattle, and granddaughter Mathilda in Barrington.